JM Sport End of Season Awards: Wicketkeeper of the Year

The fourth category of the JM Sport End of Season Awards is ‘Wicketkeeper of the Year’.

North Down’s Jamie Magowan has been named Wicketkeeper of the Year after he played a role in 16 dismissals this season.

Magowan has been a mainstay behind the stumps at The Green since joining from Muckamore ahead of the 2019 campaign and he was in a league of his own when it came to the gloves this season.

His tally of 16, which is made up of 12 catches and four stumpings, is seven better than his nearest challenger Marcus McClean and is 10 more than third-placed Woodvale captain Jamie Gibson.

It is the first season since 2014 that CIYMS keeper Chris Dougherty, who shared duties with David Miller this year, isn’t at the top of the dismissals table.

Magowan was in particularly good form in the Robinson Services Cup final against Waringstown, taking three important catches off the bowling of Paul Stirling and Ryan Haire.

It’s also a sign of the standard of bowling attack he is keeping to with Haire, Ruhan Pretorius, Carl Robinson, Peter Davison and Stirling all in the top 10 wicket takers of the season while Craig Young is the quickest in the league.

Magowan has a justified reputation for being one of the best in the league and he certainly proved that this season, conceding only six byes in 10 matches.

He will be looking for more opportunities with the bat when the 2021 season rolls around and the format returns to the standard 50 overs in most competitions so that he can show what he is capable of on that front too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s